Ethiopia and Kenya Take Gold, Silver & Bronze at the 2019 Access Bank Lagos Marathon – Derin Olatunji

Lagos City Marathon 2019
Lagos City Marathon 2019

The 4th Edition of the Access Bank Lagos City Marathon took place yesterday, February 2, 2019. Like previous years, the race featured over 100,000 male and female world elite athletes and fun runners from Nigeria and other African countries.

Among them include Samuel Gebremichael; winner of 2011 Dubai Marathon, David Barmasai Tumo of Kenya; Caroline Cheptanui Kilel, who won the Boston Marathon in 2015, and Agnes Jeruto Kiptocich, 2017 Paris Marathon runner up.

The marathon ended with Ethiopia and Kenya taking home the awards and prize money for both male and female categories in the 42km race.

Male Category: Winners of the Lagos City Marathon 2019
Male Category: Winners of the Lagos City Marathon 2019

In first place, Sintatehu Legese from Ethiopia finished with a time of 02:17:26 and was awarded 50,000 USD.

In second place, Kipkorir Joshua from Kenya ended with a time of 02:18:16 and won $40,000.

In third place, William Yegon, Kenyan finished in 02:19:04 hrs and walked away with $30,000.

Female category: Winner of the Lagos City Marathon

Female category
In the first place with a finish time of 02:48:02 was Meleka Meseret Dinke from Ethiopia who also went home with $50,000

Alemnesh Herepa and Kebena Chala came in second and third at 02:49:05 and 02:49:09 hrs, winning $40k and $30k respectively. Clearly the East Africans did not come to play.

The race started at exactly 6:25am as reported by the News Agency of Nigeria despite the pouring rain thanks to Nigerians who were not deterred.

Many Nigerians opted for the 10km race which started at the Lekki Toll gate, while the starting point for the 42km race was at Teslim Balogun Stadium, Surulere. Both races ended at Eko Atlantic City. The winners of the 10km race in the Nigerian category took home N3m, N2m and N1m respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here